ENS Education % Training Platform

Education & Training

Switzerland Switzerland

General Information

General information

The academic year

The academic year is divided into two semesters. Classes are held starting in the fall from week 38 to week 51 and in the spring from week 8 to week 22.

Switzerland's 12 universities comprise 10 cantonal universities and 2 Federal Institutes of Technology.

The language of instruction is German at the Universities of Basel, Bern, Lucerne, St. Gallen and Zurich and at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ).

The language of instruction is French at the Universities of Geneva, Lausanne, and Neuchatel and at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL).

The languages of instruction are German and/or French at the University of Fribourg; Fribourg is the capital of the bilingual Canton of Fribourg.

At the University of Lugano (USI), Switzerland's university in the Italian-speaking part of Switzerland founded in 1996, courses are mainly taught in Italian.


Academic degrees

Bachelor's degree or three years of full-time study), and Master's degree 1.5-2 years of full-time study beyond the Bachelor's degree). Access to a Master's degree programme requires the successful completion of the Bachelor's degree. Access to doctoral level studies (dissertation) requires successful completion of a Master's degree with good grades.
The universities also offer an additional post-graduate degree called Master of Advanced Studies (MAS) (minimum 60 ECTS credits or one year of full-time study). The MAS does not give access to doctoral level programmes.